Virginia Tech™home

PAPA Students

Current PAPA students

Sean Adkins seanta8@vt.edu
Constitutional Federalism, Local Governance, and Research Ethics
Primary Advisor: Dr. Sara Jordan

Elizabeth Arledge arledgee@vt.edu
Workforce of the Future, Smart Cities, Leadership, Big Data and Advanced Technologies impact on the workforce and the organization, and Organizational Culture
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Yousof Azizi yousof@vt.edu
Reform & Reorganization, Performance Measurement, Public Policy Processes, Energy Policy
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Rabita Reshmeen Banee rabita@vt.edu
Non-profit Management, Organizational Theory, and Leadership
Primary Advisor: Dr. Robin Lemaire

William Belcher bjoe@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Joe Rees

Guy C. Beougher guyb@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

William Graham Berberich wberberi@vt.edu
Organizational Networks, Seaport Security, Measures of Security, Outsourcing of Security
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Ben Bergersen ben.bergersen@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Jim Brandell jimbrandell@yahoo.com
Federal Advisory Boards and Commissions
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

John Brennan johnb95@vt.edu
Legislative Oversight and Policy Assessment
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Donald Briggs briggsd@ndu.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Anne Khademian

Emily Swenson Brock emily.brock@vt.edu
Public Financial Management and Public Pension Reform
Primary Advisor: Dr. Laura Jensen

Charles A. Buechel cbueche1@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Kathryn Jean Buechel kbuechel@vt.edu
Veteran Benefits, Higher Ed, State & Local Policy, Meditation & Mindfulness in Org. Culture, Policy Design
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Nathaniel Buss nbuss@vt.edu
Public Management, Bureaucracy, Governmental Performance, Public Value, National and Homeland Security
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Joseph Roland Castle jrcastle@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Derek P. Chancellor drock67@vt.edu
Leadership Theory and Practice; Strategic Thinking and Planning; Organizational Effectiveness, Training, and Development
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Lorita Copeland Daniels dlorita9@vt.edu
Public Organizations, Community Engagement, Local Government, Collaboration, Public Participation
Primary Advisor: TBD

Thomas Dawson tedawson@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Susan Sterett

Salvatore Peter Degennaro dsalva1@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Jared DeMello jdemello@vt.edu
Science and Technology in Government, Ethics in Administration
Primary Advisor: Dr. Sara Jordan

Daniel John Dunmire ddunmire@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Jeffrey L. Earley jearley@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Laura Jensen

Christopher William Edmunds edmundsc@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Jaimie Edwards jedwar35@vt.edu
Networks, Higher Education and Health Policy
Primary Advisor: Dr. Sara Jordan

Jamie Finch finchjdc@gmail.com
Congressional action's impact on local transportation decision making
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

John Geraghty jgeraght@vt.edu
Information Sharing using Public Private Partnerships
Primary Advisor: TBD

John Giandoni johngiandoni@gmail.com
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Joseph Kenneth Gilkerson jgilker@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Roxana Carmen Girip rcgirip@vt.edu
Applied Comparative Research wrt: Children's Rights, Child Welfare, Gerontology, Poverty, Service Delivery Design, Effective Programming, Organizational Management, Social Entrepreneurship
Primary Advisor: Dr. Brian Cook

Lisa N. Gniady lngniady@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Karen Hult

Gregory Goode ggoode@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Abraham David Gunn adgunn@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Diaz Hendropriyono dhendrop@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Anne Khademian

Edgar Hollandsworth hoya86@vt.edu
Intelligence Community Management; Science and Techology in Public Administration; Performance Measurement
Primary Advisor: Dr. Susan Sterett

Kathlyn Hopkins loudin@vt.edu
Federal Agencies, Interagency Working Groups, Bureaucratic Autonomy, Networks
Primary Advisor: Dr. Sara Jordan

Thomas Charles Howard tchowa@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Faith Gibson Hubbard fgib07@vt.edu
The role and impact of public engagement in decision-making processes focused on comprehensive public (PreK-12) education planning in the D.C. Public Schools
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

L. Maria Ingram laura13@vt.edu
Public Contracting, Theory and Practice; Administrative Law; Information, Language, and Content Standardization
Primary Advisor: Dr. Laura Jensen

Marilyn Jackson marijac@vt.edu
State Attorneys General; Federal Courts; Public Policy
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Jon Michael Johnson jon.johnson@vt.edu
Decision Making, Sensemaking Federal IT Policy, Federal IT Procurement Policy, Federal Contracting
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Patrick Johnson pajohns2@vt.edu
E-government, Digital Government, Technology, Organization Theory, Management, Budgeting, Defense Policy
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Jeffrey P. Kaczmarczyk coachkaz@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Oleh Khalayim okhala@hotmail.com
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Allison G. S. Knox kallis1@vt.edu
Federalism and Emergency Management Policy
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Theresa Kohler tjkohler@vt.edu
Organizational Change, Organizational Culture, Leadership in Organizations and Institutions
Primary Advisor: Dr. Joe Rees

Rosa Castillo Krewson rosac@vt.edu
Examining the Affects of Minority Veterans' Networks on Education Outcomes
Primary Advisor: Not determined

Melvene Lanier melvene.lanier@comcast.net
Minority Underrepresentation in Federal Agencies’ Senior Executive Service:  Institutional Pressures that Influence the Adoption and Use of Equity and Diversity Practices
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Leisha G. LaRiviere llariviere@vt.edu
Virginia's erformance:  Analysis of  Leadership Training and Development on Succession Planning Strategies in Two Target State Employee Populations in the Commonwealth
Primary Advisors:  Dr. Brian Cook and Dr. Joe Rees

Derek Larson derekb.larson@gmail.com
Policy Processes, Regulatory Rulemaking, Technology Policy, Safety Policy
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Minh Thieng Le mle01@vt.edu
Credit Union Movement and the Enabling Legislations that Shape the Credit Union Industry in the U.S.
Primary Advisors: Dr. Karen Hult and Dr. Joe Rees

Kimberly Taylor Lee kilee1@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Laura Jensen

Crane Lopes cranel@vt.edu
Dissertation Title: Historical Institutionalism and Defense Public Procurement: The Case of Other Transactions Agreements
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Amira Maaty amiramaaty@gmail.com
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Susan Maybaum smaybaum@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Anne Khademian

Lester Lanier Maynard llmayna@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Robert Kyle Mcdaniel rkm@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Lauren McKeague mckeague@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Laura Jensen

John Medeiros eagle4@vt.edu
National Infrastructure and Homeland Security Public Policy
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Jennie Kay Meeker jepage@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Mark Mereand markmere@yahoo.com
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Timothy Todd Meredith timeredi@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Robin Lemaire

Jessica Lee Minnis-Mcclain mjess08@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Joe Rees

Phil Miskovic miskovic@vt.edu
Rural Local Government, Public Safety, Emergency Management, Cultural Resiliency Post-disaster
Primary Advisor: Dr. Laura Jensen

Andrea Briceno Mosquera bandream@vt.edu
Higher Education Policy for Undocumented Students int he U.S.
Primary Advisors: Dr. Laura Jensen and Dr. Ray Zuniga

Marlon Roel Murphy rmmurphy@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Adam Eckerd

Robert Barry Murphy murphyrb@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Julie K. Neumann jkn10@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Adam Eckerd

Kelly Novak knovak@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

John L. O'Brien obrienj@vt.edu
Strategic Planning and Performance Management
Primary Advisor: Dr. Karen Hult

Seref G. Onder sgonder@vt.edu
Public Organizations, Personnel/Human Resource Management, Org. Theory, Org.Culture Law Enforcement Agencies, Homeland Security, Ethics
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Benjamin Packard bpackard@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Susan Sterett

Jacob Anthony Parcell japarcel@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Nathan Joseph Pawlicki nathanjp@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Jacob Paysour jpaysour@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Joe Rees

Laura Anne Pennington lapenn@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Karen Hult

Harold Donald Pitts hpitts@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Daniel Moore Reed danreed@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Ashley Nicole Reynolds Marshall anr1221@vt.edu
Nonprofit Management, Local Government Management, Collaborations, Administrative Law, Corporate Social Responsibility
Primary Advisor: Dr. Brian Cook

Jim Roberts James.Roberts@heratage.org
Nexus between Public Policies of Countries Worldwide and Their Rates of Economic Growth and Development
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Arun Sharma arun11@vt.edu
Patient-centric Care in the U.S. - A comparative study of patient satisfaction and quality care among for-profit physician-owned, corporate-owned, and not-for-profit hospitals
Primary Advisor:  Dr. Karen M. Hult

Stacey Shindelar stacey09@vt.edu
Office of Federal Housing Enterprise Oversight, Legislative or Regulatory Failure
Primary Advisors: Dr. Joe Rees and Dr. Karen Hult

Russell Bowman Shrader rbshrade@vt.edu
Diversity Management, Equality in Organizations
Primary Advisor: Dr. Laura Jensen

Neysa Slater-Chandler nslater@vt.edu
Federal Agencies, Boards, Commissions; Bureaucratic Autonomy; Power; Regulation; Stolen Valor; U.S. military; U.S. Navy
Primary Advisor: Dr. Karen Hult

Henry Smart, III hsmart3@vt.edu
Behavioral Public Administration, Policing and Colorism, Disasters and Presidential Pork
Primary Advisors: Drs. Adam Eckerd and Joe Rees

Andrea Baker Smith absmith1@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Jessica L. Spencer-Gallucci jspen53601@cox.net
Public Managers Use of Inclusive Management in Practices
Primary Advisors: Dr. Anne Khademian and Dr. Matthew Dull

Jeffrey Daniel Stern jdstern@vt.edu
Emergency Mgt, Homeland Security and Terrorism; Disaster Response Organizations; Crisis Leadership; Incident Analysis; and Organizational Culture
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Dennis Paul Stevens stevendp@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Patrick Roberts

Dawn M. Stoneking dawnst@vt.edu
Equality, Justice, Leadership and Management, Public Policy Processes, Policy Design, Implementation and Evaluation
Primary Advisor: Dr. Brian Cook

Shahid Rashid Talukdar shahidur@vt.edu
Sustainable Development, Local and Regional Governance, International Trade and Development
Primary Advisors: Dr. Sara Jordan and Dr. Thomas Skuzinski

Jeanne Kay Vargo jkvargo@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Brian Cook

Tonya Denice Vincent tonyaw@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Holly F. Ward hfw1986@vt.edu
Structural Reorganization, Performance Management, Accountability of Finances
Primary Advisor: Dr. Jeffrey Glick

Warren Whitley wwhitley@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Matthew Dull

Lorenzo Williams lorenzo7@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Karen Hult

Huishan Yang hyang@vt.edu
Public Service Motivation, Organization and Personnel, Community Engagement
Primary Advisor: Dr. Robin Lemaire

Anne Zobell zobella8@vt.edu
Social Welfare Policy, Organizational Culture in Congress, The Effects of Paid Sick Leave Laws
Primary Advisor: Dr. Susan Sterett