Virginia Tech™home

PGG Phd: Urban & Environmental Design & Planning

The Ph.D. program in Planning, Governance and Globalization attracts students with widely differing backgrounds and interests. In order to accommodate this diversity, curriculum requirements are defined in two tracks with several thematic areas.  For the UEDP track, these are:

  • Metropolitan Development
  • Community and Economic Development Planning
  • International Development Planning
  • Environmental Planning and Sustainability
  • Landscape Planning and Analysis
  • Transportation Planning
  • Physical Planning and Urban Design

On entry into the program, students typically follow the recommended courses associated with one of the thematic areas within a track; see handbook for more details. For those students wishing to pursue research interests that cross thematic areas or tracks, it is possible to propose, in writing, an alternative plan of study to their program committee.

Ernesto L. Acosta ela2ness@vt.edu
Transportation and Environment
Primary Advisors:  Dr. Ralph Buehler and Prof. Tom Sanchez

Jessica Agnew jlagnew@vt.edu
Market-based Approaches to Address Poverty and Malnutrition
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Hall

Aaron Akers aakers@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisors: Dr. Maggie Cowell and Dr. Yang Zhang

Hypatia Alexandria h1patia@vt.edu
How innovations in technology, design, planning, and policy can improve living; The potential of disruptive technologies such as artificial intelligence (AI) and The Internet of Things (IoT) in the context of city planning
Primary Advisor: Professor Tom Sanchez

Ibrahim Altasan ialtasan@vt.edu
The Success and Failure of Mega-Projects’ Construction in Saudi Arabia
Primary Advisors: Dr. Ralph Hall and Dr. Todd Schenk

Julia Battocchi julialb@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Shalini Misra

Luis Camacho lcamacho@vt.edu
Economic Development, Sociology of Work, Innovation and Technology in Workplaces, Participatory Management Practices, Dignity at Work
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph P. Hall

SeungBee Choi sbchoi@vt.edu
Housing Tenure Choice,  Homebuying Behavior, Millennials, Housing Policy, Housing Economics
Primary Advisor: Dr. Thomas Skuzinski

Tiffany Cousins tiffanycousins@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisors: Dr. Maggie Cowell and Dr. Yang Zhang

Alan Cunningham alanfc71@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Buehler

Lehi Dowell ldowell@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Karen Drake kdrake@vt.edu
Not Stated
Primary Advisors: Dr. Maggie Cowell and Dr. John Provo

Will Drake wdrake@vt.edu
Climate Change and Natural Hazards Planning
Primary Advisor: Dr. Yang Zhang

Raj G. C. rajgc@vt.edu
Productive Use of Rural Water Systems, Related Policy Issues and Sustainability Concerns in Nepal
Primary Advisory: Dr. Ralph Hall

Mahtot Gebresselassie gmahtot@vt.edu
TNCs and Mobility of Persons with Disabilities
Primary Advisor: Professor Thomas Sanchez

Fleur Gooden fleur@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Khushboo Gupta khushboo@vt.edu
Smart Cities and Livability in Developing Countries, Economic Impact Analysis
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Hall

Xavier Harmony xavierharmony@vt.edu
Public Transportation; Transportation Politics and Governance; Transportation Policy and Funding; Transportation Equity
Primary Advisor: Dr. Thomas Skuzinski

Conaway B. Haskins III chaskins@vt.edu
Economic Development, Entrepreneurship Policy, Organizational Management and Sustainable Communities
Primary Advisor: Dr. Maggie Cowell

Ayda Kianmehr akianmehr@vt.edu
Climate change, Urban heat island, Air pollution, Modeling, Hazard Mitigation and Adaptation
Primary Advisors: Dr. Todd Schenk and Dr. Theo Lim

Hwa young Kim eagloo@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Yang Zhang

Stephen Kleiber kleiber@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Diane Zahm

Tianjun Lu tianjun@vt.edu
Research Interest: Environmental Planning and Transportation Planning
Primary Advisor: Dr. Steve Hankey

Neda Moayerian mneda14@vt.edu
Cultural Tourism, Civic Engagement and Community Development
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Cheryl L. Montgomery clmontgo@vt.edu
Community Engagement, Spatial Justice, Critical Race Theory
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Seth Peery sspeery@vt.edu
GIS, Impact of Telecommunications on Rural Economic Development
Primary Advisor: Professor Tom Sanchez

Meng Qi mengqi@vt.edu
Environmental Planning, Urban Air Quality
Primary Advisor: Dr. Steve Hankey

Hye jeong Seo seohj@vt.edu
Not Stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Todd Schenk

Frances Stanley fstanley@vt.edu
Community Development Non Profits
Primary Advisor: Professor Emeritus Ted Koebel

Denis Can Teoman dteoman@vt.edu
Transportation planning and travel behaviour of migrants
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Buehler

Kaidi Wang kaidi@vt.edu
Automated Vehicle, Transportation, Land Use, Environment
Primary Advisor: Dr. Wenwen Zhang

Qiong Wang wqiong7@vt.edu
Natural Hazard Mitigation Policy
Primary Advisor: Dr. Yang Zhang

Yang Wang yang6@vt.edu
Land Use Science Planning
Primary Advisors:  Dr. Todd Schenk and Dr. Wenwen Zhang

Daniel White dannyw@vt.edu
Sport and International Development, Social Capital, International Development
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Jane Anne Williams janeann@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Tim Luke

Joshua Wimpey jorshw@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Hall and Professor Kris Wernstedt

Davon Woodard davon@vt.edu
Urban Computing, Social Network Analysis, Digital Ethnography, Public Participation
Primary Advisors:  Professor Tom Sanchez and Dr. Wenwen Zhang

Ruixiang Xie xrx1993@vt.edu
Environmental Policy, Climate Change, Global and Local Governance
Primary Advisors:  Professor Kris Wernstedt and Dr. Yang Zhang

Arica Young arica2@vt.edu
Suburban Spaces, Cohousing and Ecovillages, Social and Environmental Sustainability
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Buehler

Wafa Al-Daily waldaily@vt.edu
Dissertation: An Exploration of State and Non-State Actor Engagement in Informal Settlement Governance in the Mahwa Aser Neighborhood and Sana’a City, Yemen
Primary Advisors: Professors Max Stephenson and Kathleen Parrott

Yehyun (Hannah) An yehyun@vt.edu
Dissertation: The Operationalization of Capacity Development: The Case of Urban Infrastructure Projects in India
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Hall

Veronica Arroyave varroya@vt.edu
Dissertation: Networks in the Disaster Response and Global Health Domain: A case study of The Partnership for Quality Medical Donation’s response to the 2010 Haitian Earthquake
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

David Bieri bieri@vt.edu
Dissertation: Location Choice, Linkages and the Spatial Economy: Essays on Theory, Evidence and Heterodox Assessment
Primary Advisor: Professor Paul Knox

Brendan Brink-Halloran bbrink42@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Timothy G. Brown tgbrown@vt.edu
Environmental Conflicts, The U.S. News Media, Public Agenda Setting
Primary Advisor: Professor John Randolph

Fanny Carlet fanny09@vt.edu
Sustainable Development and Green Infrastructure
Primary Advisor: Dr. Kris Wernstedt

Selma Elouardighi selmae@vt.edu
Transfer of Environmental Best Practices from Developed to Developing Countries through Multinational Corportations
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Hall and Professor Edward Weisband

Marc Fialkoff marcf@vt.edu
Critical Infrastructure Resilience and Security, Freight Transportation Planning and Policy
Primary Advisors: Dr. Ralph Hall and Dr. Ralph Buehler

Kate Fisher fisherm@cna.org
Dissertation: Aging America: Essays on Population Aging and the Physical and Economic Landscapes in the United States
Primary Advisor: Dr. Casey Dawkins

Trevor Flanery tflanery@vt.edu
Economic and Community Development, Complex Adaptive Systems, Networks, Models & Simulation Science
Primary Advisor: Professor John Randolph

Curt Gervich cgervich@plattsburgh.edu
Decision Making for Sustainability – EDP (Planning)
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Anja Hälg Bieri ahb@vt.edu
Urban Geography, Architecture, Documentary Art, Critical Theory, Walkable Urbanism, Creative Cities
Primary Advisor: Dr. Paul Knox

Andrea Hamre ahamre@vt.edu
Commuter Benefits, Transport Justice, Travel Behavior
Primary Advisor: Dr. Kris Wernstedt

Allison Heck ajaheck@vt.edu
Cultural Development, Community and Economic Development, Participatory Planning, Gentrification, and Resilience
Primary Advisor: Dr. Derek Hyra

Priscila Izar izarpris@vt.edu
Dissertation: Housing Provision through Real Estate Development: adopting Public-Private Partnerships for affordable housing delivery in Brazil
Primary Advisors: Dr. David Bieri and Dr. Giselle Datz

Huyen Le huyenle@vt.edu
Travel Behavior, Activity-Travel, Choice Modeling
Primary Advisor: Dr. Steve Hankey and Dr. Ralph Buehler

Jennifer LeFurgy jlefurgy@vt.edu
“Staying Power: Aging in Community and the Village Model”
Primary Advisor: Professor Jim Bohland

Monica Licher mlicher@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Assoc. Prof. Jesse Richardson

Cindy Lintz mila@vt.edu
Perceptions of Other Along the Bulgarian-Macedonian Border
Primary Advisors: Drs. Sonia Hirt and Derek Hyra

Omchand Mahdu omchand4@vt.edu
The Impact of Climate Change on Agriculture and Rural Development
Primary Advisors: Dr. Todd Schenk and Dr. Yang Zhang

Morgan Mbeky
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Tom Sanchez

Dale Medearis dmedearis@novaregion.org
European (specifically German) urban planning practices, and regional climate mitigation and adaptation policies
Primary Advisor: Professor Chris Nelson

Joao Mil-Homens joaomh@ualg.pt
Dissertation: Labeling Schemes or Labeling Scams? Auditors’ Perspectives on ISO 14001 Certification
Primary Advisors: Professor John Randolph and Dr. Joe Rees

Asli Ceylan Oner aoner@fau.edu
Globalization, Global Cities, Metropolitan Decentralization, and Comparative Urbanization
Primary Advisor: Professor Paul Knox

Damian Pitt dpitt@vcu.edu
Dissertation: The Diffusion of Climate Protection Planning among U.S. Municipalities
Primary Advisor: Professor John Randolph

Andrew Sanderford sanderford@email.arizona.edu
Dissertation: Bridging the Diffusion of Innovation Chasm for Green Housing
Primary Advisor: Professor Ted Koebel

Vera Smirnova veras@vt.edu
Research on Land Appropriation, Enclosure, and Territorialization in Times of Economic Crises
Primary Advisor: Professor Paul Knox

Caitlin Walter csugrue@vt.edu
Economic Development & Housing Policy 
Primary Advisor: Dr. Maggie Cowell

Emma Rongrong Wei rrw1988@vt.edu
Fiscal Behavior, Fiscal Rules & Institutions, Public Choice
Primary Advisor: Dr. Tom Skuzinski