Virginia Tech™home

PGG Students

Current PGG-GG students

Putu Desy Apriliani putuda8@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Joyce Rothschild

Carmen Boggs-Parker cabooker@vt.edu
Intercultural Learning in Cross-cultural Contexts
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Luis Camacho lcamacho@vt.edu
Economic Development, Sociology of Work, Innovation and Technology in Workplaces, Participatory Management Practices, Dignity at Work
Primary Advisor: Dr. Joyce Rothschild

Jon Catherwood-Ginn rjginn@vt.edu
Not Stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Martin Cho martinhc@vt.edu
Geopolitics and Development of Energy Resources
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ariel Ahram

Ben Coleman bencoleman@vt.edu
International Political Economy, Macroeconomics, Finance, Central Banking, Economic History
Primary Advisor:  Dr. Giselle Datz

Lindy Cranwell lindycra@vt.edu
International Education, Higher Education, Faculty Engagement in Comprehensive Internationalization, University Student Global Mobility
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Jonathan Elliott jtelliott@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Joel Peters

Rachel Gabriele rachelvg@vt.edu
The Effects of Power and Narrative in the Built Environment of Detroit
Primary Advisors: Professor Max Stephenson and Dr. Maggie Cowell

Jen Gooding jgooding@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Joyce Rothschild

Ben Grove ben.grove@vt.edu
Internationalization of Cooperative Extension Systems
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Terken Gupur terken@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Tim Luke and Dr. Ioannis Stivachtis

Helen Horton helenuva@yahoo.com
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Jim Bohland

Pishtiwan Jalal pishti1@vt.edu
Terrorism, Islamic Radicalism, Political Islam, Democracy and the Kurdish Issue
Primary Advisor: Professor Gerard Toal

Marc Jasper marcwj62@vt.edu
Nationalism; US Military Intervention; Balkans, Caucasus & Middle East Conflict & Area Studies: Peace Operations & Low-intensity Conflict; Conflict Resolution
Primary Advisor: Professor Gerard Toal

Craig Johnson cjohn5x@vt.edu
Post-Cold War Nuclear Security Regimes
Primary Advisor: Professor Joel Peters

Joseph Karle karle1jb@vt.edu
Analyzing US nation building efforts in the Middle East since 9/11, particularly the way interactions between US personnel and local leaders (governmental and military) impact the development of governance and security structures
Primary Advisor:  Professor Joel Peters

Jared "Jake" Keyel jaredk1@vt.edu
Critical Refugee and Forced Migration Studies
Primary Advisors: Professor Max Stephenson

Gregory Kruczek kruczek1@vt.edu
Lebanon/Syia; Lebanese Civil War; Nationalism studies, Modern Levantine History
Primary Advisors: Dr. Ariel Ahram and Professor Joel Peters

Walter "Rick" Landgraf wfland3@vt.edu
DeFacto States; Ethnic Conflicts; Russian Foreign Policy; NATO-Russia Relations; Visual Geopolitics
Primary Advisor: Professor Gerard Toal

Benjamin Louis bflouis@vt.edu
Alliance Politics, U.S. Foreign Policy, International Relations Theory
Primary Advisors: Professor Tim Luke and Dr. Paul Avey

Sarah Lyon-Hill sarahlh@vt.edu
Theater Arts and Community Economic Development
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Julian R. Meade julian67@vt.edu
U.S. Geopolitical Considerations of the Arctic
Primary Advisor:  Professor Joel Peters

Gela Merabishvili gm88@vt.edu
How sub-state actors, such as cities and regions, influence international politics; the EU, particularly its foreign and security policy, Russia, and the countries in their shared neighborhood
Primary Advisor: Professor Gerard Toal

Allison D. Miller ahern09@vt.edu
Community Building and Countering Violent Extremism: An Ethnographic Analysis of Metro Detroit
Primary Advisors:  Professor Tim Luke and Dr. Priya Dixit

Gabriel Mitchell gabim14@vt.edu
Regionalism, majority-minority politics, and the formation of state foreign policy. His dissertation explores the relationship between energy policy and foreign policy in Israel and the Eastern Mediterranean
Primary Advisor: Professor Joel Peters

Patricia Parera patric7@vt.edu
Including the excluded: change toward social inclusion; Violence against Women, the case of indigenous adolescent girls in Guatemala
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Eric Reading ereading@vt.edu
Political Transitions, International Development, Middle East
Primary Advisor: Professor Joel Peters

Alana Romanella aromanel@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Tim Luke

Jeanette Ruiz ruizjr@vt.edu
Understanding How Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) Impact and Empower Informal Networks as these Networks Develop Tools for Re-shaping Economies, Polities, and International Relations
Primary Advisor: Dr. Giselle Datz

Kevin Saderup kevin57@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ariel Ahram

Moon Yousif Sulfab esulfab@vt.edu
International Relations, Geopolitics, and Cyberwarfare in the Greater Middle East
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ariel Ahram

Donald Tighe donaldvt@vt.edu
Identity and Foreign Policy, Northern Ireland
Primary Advisor: Professor Joel Peters

Lacy Watson elw3@vt.edu
International Refugee Research: refugee integration and policy
Primary Advisor: Professor Tim Luke and Dr. Georgeta Pourchot

Khodr Zaarour kaazrour@vt.edu
Intl Relations, US Foreign & Security Policy, emphasis: transnational crime & contentious politics in the Greater Middle East
Primary Advisors: Professor Karen Hult and Professor Joyce Rothschild

Current PGG-UEDP students

Ernesto L. Acosta ela2ness@vt.edu
Transportation and Environment
Primary Advisors:  Dr. Ralph Buehler and Prof. Tom Sanchez

Jessica Agnew jlagnew@vt.edu
Market-based Approaches to Address Poverty and Malnutrition
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Hall

Hypatia Alexandria h1patia@vt.edu
Transportation Technologies, Innovation
Primary Advisor: Professor Tom Sanchez

SeungBee Choi sbchoi@vt.edu
Housing Policy, Homeownership, Housing Tenure Choice
Primary Advisor: Dr. Thomas Skuzinski

Tiffany Cousins tiffanycousins@vt.edu
Disaster Management, Participatory GIS, Community Resilience, Natural Hazards, Social Media
Primary Advisors: Dr. Maggie Coweill and Dr. Yang Zhang

Alan Cunningham alanfc71@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Buehler

Karen Drake kdrake@vt.edu
Not Stated
Primary Advisors: Dr. Maggie Cowell and Dr. John Provo

Will Drake wdrake@vt.edu
Climate Change and Natural Hazards Planning
Primary Advisor: Dr. Yang Zhang

Selma Elouardighi selmae@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Hall and Professor Edward Weisband

Efon Epanty efon@vt.edu
Transportation technology, policy and the impact of technology on decision making
Primary Advisor: Professor Tom Sanchez

Raj G. C. rajgc@vt.edu
A Comparative Analysis of the Sustainability of Multiple-Use Water Service Systems; (MUS) and Single-Use Domestic Water Systems (SUS): Examples from the Hills of Nepal
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Hall

Mahtot Gebresselassie gmahtot@vt.edu
The Role of Technology in Accessibility of Transport for Persons With Disabilities
Primary Advisor:  Professor Tom Sanchez

Fleur Gooden fleur@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Khushboo Gupta khushboo@vt.edu
Smart Cities and Livability in Developing Countries, Economic Impact Analysis
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Hall

Hwa young Kim eagloo@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Yang Zhang

Stephen Kleiber kleiber@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Dr. Diane Zahm

Huyen Le huyenle@vt.edu
Travel Behavior, Activity-Travel, Choice Modeling
Primary Advisor: Dr. Steve Hankey and Dr. Ralph Buehler

Tianjun Lu tianjun@vt.edu
Environmental Planning and Transportation Planning
Primary Advisor: Dr. Steve Hankey

Omchand Mahdu omchand4@vt.edu
The Impacts of Climate Change on Rice Production and Small Farmers' Adaptation: a Case of Guyana 
Primary Advisors: Drs. Todd Schenk and Yang Zhang

Neda Moayerian mneda14@vt.edu
Cultural Tourism, Civic Engagement and Community Development
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Cheryl L. Montgomery clmontgo@vt.edu
Critical Race Theory, Counterpublics, Community Identity, Digital Storytelling
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Seth Peery sspeery@vt.edu
GIS, Impact of Telecommunications on Rural Economic Development
Primary Advisor: Professor Tom Sanchez

Hye-jeong Seo seohj@vt.edu
Environmental Risk Communication in Public Decision-making, Public Dispute Resolution, Participatory Planning
Primary Advisor: Dr. Todd Schenk

Frances Stanley fstanley@vt.edu
Community Development Non Profits
Primary Advisor: Professor Ted Koebel

Kaidi Wang kaidi@vt.edu
Automated Vehicle, Transportation, Land Use, Environment
Primary Advisor: Dr. Wenwen Zhang

Qiong Wang wqiong7@vt.edu
Disaster Resilience and Risk Management
Primary Advisor: Dr. Yang Zhang

Yang Wang yang6@vt.edu
Land Use Science & Urban Stormwater Runoff
Primary Advisor:  Dr. Todd Schenk and Dr. Wenwen Zhang

Emma R. Wei rrw@vt.edu
Public Choice, Fiscal Federalism, Fiscal Policy
Primary Advisor: Dr. Maggie Cowell

Daniel White dannyw@vt.edu
Sport and International Development, Social Capital, International Development
Primary Advisor: Professor Max Stephenson

Jane Anne Williams janeann@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Professor Tim Luke

Joshua Wimpey jorshw@vt.edu
Not stated
Primary Advisor: Drs. Ralph Hall and Kris Wernstedt

Davon Woodard davon@vt.edu
Urban Computing, Social Network Analysis, Digital Ethnography, Public Participation
Primary Advisor: Drs. David Bieri and Wenwen Zhang

Ruixiang Xie xrx1993@vt.edu
Environmental Policy, Climate Change, Global and Local Governance
Primary Advisors:  Dr. Kris Wernstedt and Dr. Yang Zhang

Arica Young arica2@vt.edu
Suburban Spaces, Cohousing and Ecovillages, Social and Environmental Sustainability
Primary Advisor: Dr. Ralph Buehler